Belated weekend update

I'm really not happy with the graduate program here.  I'm rather quiet in class, and that doesn't help when I try to speak up during the "roundhouse discussions" in class.  Next week I'm supposed to lead the discussion with another fellow student, and being a former substitute teacher, I asked if it'd be okay to change the format a little bit.  The professor didn't like that idea, and accused me of trying to treat the class like a bunch of elementary school kids (which I wasn't trying to do).  I wanted to argue, but chickened out because of my meekness.

I used to be really confident in speaking.  I went through alot to bring out some more courage, like being a conversation leader for international students, having gone through a half-year of student teaching, and doing a full year of substitute teaching.  But that was a year ago, and since then my confidence has slowly evaporated back to pre-teaching, when I hardly spoke at all.  I don't know whats wrong with me.

On top of all that, I've now officially entered my 27th year of life, which is a bit embarassing.  Maybe its that infamous quarter-life crisis that I've been hearing?  Whoooaaa.  For the next few weeks, there is the possibility that I will be absent from blogging due to crunch time from a really important research paper for my class.  In case I'm gone, I will probably put up a del.icio.us link in my profile for anyone interested in following the stories I find.  And in a super-super-super-rare chance, I might ask another guest blogger to come and post on my behalf. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Responses to “Belated weekend update”


  1. 1 Ivysgrandkid April 5, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    I'm cheering for you laughing man

  2. 2 patapete April 6, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Thanks. I'm gonna have to find a nick name for you, since you call me "laughing man" so much lol πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Jonathan April 6, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    There is a song that I remember from the time I was 27 – and nearly emmigrated to the USA… "Rocky Mountain High" by John Denver. Go listen to it πŸ™‚

  4. 4 patapete April 6, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks Johnathan, I'll go check out that song right away!

  5. 5 Shabby April 29, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Late greetings to you! What does it feel like to be 27? *lol* We're all getting old. D:I would miss your posts once you start getting busy with your paper. :/

  6. 6 patapete April 29, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks, and good to see you again! It feels strange to be 27, honestly. It takes me a full year to get used to being older, only to feel older the next time around, haha.Still working on that paper, so unfortunately its getting harder to find time to post stuff 😦

  7. 7 Shabby April 30, 2008 at 11:50 am

    I'm happy to be back although I haven't made any posts yet. ^_^ I'm catching up on my 'neighbors' here. Aww, good luck with your paper. I'm glad you're still able to reply to comments. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

