Winefest!

Yesterday was awesome!  Once a year, there's an event we have here called Winefest.  Its pricey to go in, but once inside you can sample a tremendous amount of wines from all over the country.  They even have food (a plus!) from the city's top restaurants for tasting! 

Even though the weather outside became a bit wet, it didn't stop hundreds of attendees from waiting in line.  Most people purchased their ticket online, but I went and bought one at the gate.  Funny thing though, because while my friends stood in line waiting, I got inside right away when I bought the ticket up front.  They hated me for it, lol.

I took a bunch of photos all over the place.  I'm not too smart on wines, so I kind of just follow whatever my friend Keith recommends.  The food was delicious, with stuff ranging from raw salmon, to desserts (chocolate fountains were everywhere).  There was also a silent auction, but that was too rich for my blood.

I think I'm liking white wines more than red wines.  Some of the red wines I tasted like Chiantis and Cabernets had a little bit of an aftertaste.  One $60 wine was really good though, it was a red wine with none of that aftertaste business.  But Pinot Gris came out to be my top favorite.  Good stuff.  You can see more pictures at my flickr page!

One of the many wine booths.Cheese.  Mmmmm.Random women.The look on her face is priceless.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Winefest!”


  1. 1 RT McMahon April 28, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Never been a fan of wine. I've had a few that were ok, but nothing special.I'm more of a beer man. I like tasting different kinds. I plan on having my own home selection one day once I get a real job and some real money =)

  2. 2 patapete April 28, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I hear ya on that man, I love beer more than wine as well. We have a beerfest as well here, but thats not until the end of October 🙂


Leave a Reply

