Friday Night Shenanigans

Today was pretty crazy.  Aside from waking up at 6 a.m., alot of cool stuff happened today, like this shirt for instance.  Last year I scoured the city looking for any form of "engrish" shirts, and walked away empty handed.  I swear they knew I was coming or something, and hid all of the good stuff.  But today, I think someone slipped, cause right away, I was able to capture the first insane engrish shirt of the day. 

Now I would love to stop and examine the sentence structure, grammar, and applied of semantics of this masterpiece, but its probably more prudent to let the image speak for itself.  Other noteworthy engrish shirts (worn by actual human beings) included phrases like, "I ❤ KY" (Kentucky the state, or KY jelly?), "Caution is nothing, female is power", and many other wacky shirts.  I wish I had stopped those people and photographed their shirts…each and every one of them was pure gold.

Its currently 2:30 a.m. while I write this, so I'll just post this quickie about something Zack told me.  Apparently, my "neutral" face looks like I'm angry or mad.  I knew this for a while, but its strange that he just pointed that out today.  I explained that I'm not trying to put out any particular emotive look, its just how I was born I guess.  He understood what I was talking about and that was the end of it.  But now I wonder why other Japanese people kind of stare at me.  Am I scaring them?  Here's a sample picture you can look at and judge for yourself:

Well?  Do I appear…angry?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 Responses to “Friday Night Shenanigans”


  1. 1 Heroin(e) May 23, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    I sort of want that t-shirt now.
    And no, you don't look angry; just sort of remote/in deep thought. Maybe the people don't want to bump into you for breaking your train of thought?
    Glad you're having fun in Japan though. 🙂

  2. 2 Jandro May 23, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Great shirt!Angry??? I wouldn't say angry. I agree with deep in thought. Maybe determined also.

  3. 3 patapete May 23, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Haha, you like that shirt, huh! But yeah, you might be right about the train of thought idea. Didn't think of it like that :B

  4. 4 patapete May 23, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    lol, determined! People must be looking at me like I'm going crazy ^^

  5. 5 Workaholic Hostess May 23, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Scary!!!! I'd avoid bumping into you ; )No, you look fine. They probably just want to be your friend. Or they think you're a Korean movie star. Or they're wondering why you don't have a T-shirt with weird English written on it!

  6. 6 patapete May 23, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Korean movie star! I wish! And that last sentence had me laughing ^^

  7. 7 Ivysgrandkid May 23, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    you look more like mr cool i dont give a crap that you're looking at my while I walk hehe

  8. 8 Heroin(e) May 24, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Haha; I agree with the Korean movie star idea. Your clothes don't look that tourist-y either and look more high-class rocker-trying-to-blend-in-with-normal-society-ish.
    And your expression reminds me of Aoi from the GazettE, but that might just be the fangirl in me. 😛

  9. 9 Shabby July 13, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    You look more like in deep thought instead of angry. *lol* Yeah, just like what the others said. ^_^ Hmm, you also look like someone with a sign that says, "Don't disturb me." HAHAH~ XD;;;


Leave a Reply

