Perhaps the coolest Dude I have ever met

Got my haircut today, thanks to the wonderful tip from red-headed hostess girl (thanks a bunch for the advice!).  I've never had a really great haircut from anyone until I met the Dude, a.k.a. Taira Kazuo.  He's so nice!  And his english is absolutely fluent, which was a really comforting sign.  I would definitely recommend anyone living in Japan to come get your ears lowered from the Dude!

Most of the time when I visit the barber, I tend to be really quiet in order to not distract the stylist.  Sometimes this gets misconstrued negatively, since people tend to use this time to bring up some small chat.  The Dude shared this same feeling, since people tend to talk to him as he's cutting hair.  He doesn't mean any offense while working, because he wants to give the absolute best haircut for each customer.  I love this guy so much; he passed alot of wisdom on to me on just about anything I had a question about.  I'm just saddened I won't be able to get another haircut from him again, after I leave.  This was definitely the highest point so far in the trip :))

Tonight, I'm supposed to be going out to Shinjuku for a welcome back party for Zack and his other friend.  It might be an all-nighter, but since its raining it might dampen the mood a bit.  Hopefully I won't be too hung over tomorrow, haha :B

*update* Sorry, I forgot to put the link to his website page.  You can check them out here.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Responses to “Perhaps the coolest Dude I have ever met”


  1. 1 Workaholic Hostess May 24, 2008 at 3:17 am

    Yay, it's the Dude! He had dreads last time I saw him. Maybe I should go back and get him to re-dye my hair!And almost forgot, looking good, you!

  2. 2 patapete May 24, 2008 at 3:29 am

    lol, thanks! He asked me who referred me to him, and I didn't know your name. Give him a big hello for me if you do go visit him again 🙂

  3. 3 Workaholic Hostess May 24, 2008 at 3:32 am

    That's funny. What did you say? "A girl I never actually met told me about you, and I don't know her name." Knowing the Dude, he would have probably just said "oh, yeah." And totally understood.

  4. 4 patapete May 24, 2008 at 3:47 am

    Yeah, how did you know that! I didn't know what else to say, and I really don't know your name! But I did try to explain how I know you…

  5. 5 recyclemicol May 24, 2008 at 11:22 am

    What a great haircut! And I feel as though I know The Dude already from reading your post. Bless his little talented hands!
    RM

  6. 7 patapete May 25, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    You would love the Dude!

  7. 8 patapete May 25, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks laughing man!


Leave a Reply

