Whew.

Sunday is coming to a close, and a lot of stuff happened today…hmm…where should I start?  I guess the best place would be with what happened on Saturday night.

I didn't sleep.  At all.  The party moved to a karaoke box, and a few of us (who still wanted to party) stayed there until five-freaking-thirty a.m.  It was seriously painful, because my sleep scheduled has consisted of going to bed early and waking up early.  Staying up until dawn was god-awful painful.  And karaoke joints are painful, period.  Its like the fifth gate of hell, with each box blasting out noise while the hallway itself blasts more music on top of that. No quiet place to sleep.  Going to bed Sunday morning was a blessing.

Today, Akihabara and Shibuya was on the itinerary.  I remembered that Sunday is the day that performers come out in Akiba, but recent events (re: Akiba Flasher) have reduced their numbers.  More importantly, it was the last day for the Street Fighter IV location test, which I really wanted to try at least once to get a sense of what the game is like.

After a long wait, I was only able to play it once, and boy was it quick.  At least the guy I was playing was kind enough to let me win the second round, probably after he sensed it was my first time playing, lol.  That was cool.  The game system was really good too.  No more floaty jumps, smooth and responsive play (a Capcom staple), and a pretty interesting amount of depth to the game system.  Aside from a few cheap moves (Blanka's electric charge now hits waaaaay farther), the game was fun.  I'm looking forward to the final product.

The other game I played in Akiba was Otomedius.  Wait, let me correct that…the only game I watched was Otomedius.  You needed a four hundred yen card to even get past the title screen, and each play was limited to only four stages.  I will say though, that the game looks really appealing, you know, cause uh, the graphics are sweeeeet.  Yeah.  But seriously though, they've changed the traditional format that Gradius plays like, tremendously.  You can really personalize your weapons much more than before!

Finally, as I was wandering Akiba looking for new places to explore, I stumbled upon this really, really, really crazy building.  The first floor was rather normal, with anime dvds, mangas, etc.  As I moved upward, however, on the third, fourth, and fifth, I ran across the airplane, auto(complete with mini race track), and train hobbyist floor (complete with miniature model city).  But it wasn't until the next floor, that I encountered this:

If you can't tell, this is the gun hobbyist section of the store.  This is where all of the gun lovers, military buffs, and general Call of Duty 4 nuts congregate.  They have all kinds of types of rifles, guns, boots, clips, vests, outfits, and suits replicas.  It is MADNESS.  And this ain't even the last floor!  The last floor has a shooting range.  Now, the last time I checked, there's a law permitting firearm sales excluding hunting rifles.  So naturally, you gotta ask: what do they use to shoot in there? It can't be real ammunition, its probably BB guns and pellets.  Thats got to be such a letdown…

There was a few other things that I encountered that day, but for now I'm going to save it for a later post.  Its 2 a.m., and my eyes are starting to shut on their own.  Stay tuned!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Response to “Whew.”


  1. 1 Workaholic Hostess May 25, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    I never thought of that! You're right, it is kind of weird that Karaoke places play loud music in the hallways too.


Leave a comment




Random quote of the day: "I like girls, but I'm more into justice."

May 2008
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers