Tuesday / Wednesday

Lets see…today is Wednesday.  As the cool afternoon wind blows through the window, I'm working hard trying to piece together the past two days.  I pulled another all-nighter, so my head kind of hurts from staying up 24 hours plus.

After a few correspondences, the red-headed hostess and I planned a small trip to Tsukiji, which is known for its incredible fish market.  I don't remember if Anthony Bourdain (from the show No Reservations) had ever visited one in Japan, but I remember watching him go to something similar in South Korea.  I love all kinds of cooking, so visiting something like this was a rare chance to see how the process begins.

The red-headed hostess usually works at night, so for me that meant I would be spending alot of downtime wandering around the city for a bit until she finished.  I first checked out Roppongi Hills, which was really nice and modern.  The whole area comprises of trendy contemporary business offices that melds with a very cozy shopping mall and expo center.  After that, I walked around other parts of Roppongi, and bought some water to keep my mind awake.

It wasn't until roughly 3:00 a.m. when we finally met up, and she was as charming as expected.  Her sister was also in attendance, and equally as charming.  I really envy the closeness between these two; they were always chatting away at just about every imaginable thing.  The sister was really entertaining as well (is it in the family?), and surprised me a bit with her camera-mania, lol.  Since the fish market doesn't open until later, the hostess girl took us to a small bar.  The bartender there was a friend of hers, so he humored us for the time we were there.  We took some pictures and talked about all kinds of stuff.  After some time, the bartender closed up shop, and joined us to Tsukiji. 

Unfortunately we arrived a bit too late. 

By the time we got there, most of the business had already been done, and there was few to no one there.  Looking back, I had asked Makoto-san, the resident Japanese wiki, about Tsukiji.  According to him, he said we should have gone a bit further into the area, because there is still activity going on until about 11 a.m. or so.  Probably should have did that, but I couldn't tell if there really was anybody working, so I kind of just left it at that.

The four of us decided to go try some sushi nearby, and we ended up at a shop named Sushi Zanmai.  Hostess girl says they're a national chain, but this one is special because it serves an alternative menu since they're close by Tsukiji.

Out of all the places I've eaten sushi at, this one has certainly topped the list.  Ootoro is always delicious, but there were also two more varieties the bartender introduced me to, which were Abare-toro and Abare-Salmon.  These two pieces are cooked a bit before served, so the texture is really rich and just literally melts in your mouth.  There's also no need to dip in any sauce, because the taste alone is excellent (can you tell I really enjoyed it, lol?).  We also tried another delicacy: Shark heart.  Now, normally I'm not big on eating things out of the usual venue, but how can you resist not eating something this crazy in the biggest fish market in Japan?

Hostess girl and her sister were a bit grossed out watching it being made, lol.  She said to me that she saw blood squirting out of the heart as it was being cut, which made me laugh.  The bartender and I each took a bite, and at first our initial impression was…good.  A bit salty, but palatable.  I probably dipped it a little too long, so the next bite was all shark heart.  Mmm.  Not salty.  If I could compare it to anything, it was more like…raw beef.  With lots of blood juice. 

After that, we left and headed toward the subway.  There, we each parted ways, and I started the long trek back to Hibarigaoka, which was probably, perhaps, the second hardest trip back since I've arrived.  But its okay, the amount of memories gained today was worth every bit.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Responses to “Tuesday / Wednesday”


  1. 1 Workaholic Hostess May 28, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Yeah, I had fun too. Actually the fish market was closed today/this morning/last night, whatever the hell it is. That's what the sign said anyways.And the blood squirting out of the heart really was gross. I felt like immediately screaming, and I'm quite proud of myself for not doing so. Glad you had a good time though! I was feeling kind of bad about the fact that it was closed after making you stay up all night m(_ _)m

  2. 2 patapete May 28, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Nah, don't feel bad. Too bad it was closed, though. But sorry you were grossed out by the bloody, dripping, oozing shark heart. We should do it again sometime 😀

  3. 3 Kyoto Observer May 28, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Shark heart sounds…yummy. Did you try other parts of the fish? Do you like hormone? I hope red-headed hostess drinks lots of water. Look forward to your latest entries. 乾杯!

  4. 4 Ivysgrandkid May 28, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    blood juice!! I think I just lost my breakfast

  5. 5 patapete May 28, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    No, the heart was more than enough for me. Whats hormone?


Leave a Reply

