Back home (whats that naggy feeling?)

Its inevitable and gut-wrenching when you leave some where exciting and return home.  I didn't like that feeling when I came home last year.  Its like, "Ah, I'm…home.  Oh crap this sucks now."  No melancholic feelings or any murmurs of the homeland at all.  This was expected.   And yet it still creeps up on me.

I thought reading a book might lessen or dull the moment, and it did, for a while.  But now that I'm sitting here typing on this keyboard and remembering everything during the trip, it snuck up on me.  I can't help but wonder what my friends are doing over there, what time is it right now, and whether or not I'll be coming back anytime soon.  The sooner this feeling passes, the better off I'll be, hopefully.

The other anticipation is the potential jetlag thats gonna bite me in the bum at work.  I tried to stay awake throughout the flight as much as possible, but no idea if that's gonna help at all.  Perhaps an early trip to bed will be a sufficient deterrent tomorrow. 

Oh, and a quick shoutout to the TSA.  Thanks for going through my suitcase and stealing my bear charm that was hanging as a psuedo "lock".  Assholes.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “Back home (whats that naggy feeling?)”


  1. 1 Kyoto Observer June 4, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Japan can be hell for those who want to make it that way. But for others–some foreigners sitting in the bleachers–it is relatively immune from much of shit happening in the rest of the world. As for your cuddly bear, have you asked Guantanamo yet? TSA might have taken him for Al Qaeda and shipped him off for indefinite detention.

  2. 2 patapete June 4, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Haven't asked yet, whats gone is gone…

  3. 3 Shabby July 13, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    Sorry about your bear. -_- Last year, an airport guy took my lip balm… It was my favorite flavor too. *bah*


Leave a Reply

