Make it count.

Before I say anything, I just want to make it known that its not my policy to comment on sensitive topics.  Like at a dinner party, speaking on politics and religion makes for an uncomfortable atmosphere. But today however is an important day, so the mood feels forgiving enough to speak my mind, just this once.

I vote every opportunity I get.  It's something I feel proud to do, even though its only a drop in the ocean.  And while I understand that many people out there are jaded, disillusioned, and apathetic to our government, it's still a right we hold on to that some people around the world don't have.

It's empowering.

Red, blue, or whichever way you feel, don't let this opportunity pass by.  Countless neighbors here on Vox have all made the push, even going so far as to tell you how to vote (but most just plainly encourage going). 

I'm not going to tell you to vote.  After all, it's your choice.  But I will say one thing.

The place I voted at gave out FREE COOKIES.  And Starbucks gave me a free Green Tea Iced latte just for telling them I voted.  Do you know how good those are? 

Rock the vote, 2008.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Responses to “Make it count.”


  1. 1 M-----l November 4, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    My local music store and book store both offered 10% off today for showing the "I Voted" sticker. No one's going to vote in order to get a free coffee or save on a book, but I like when stores do the voting promotions. I'm always so proud to walk around with my sticker on. It's nice to get something for it.

  2. 2 Hangaku Gozen November 4, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I didn't get a sticker because I sent in an absentee ballot. I didn't want to wait in line for two hours, which is what is going on right now at the little elementary school around the corner. But now I want a Starbuck's green tea latte, which is the best damn green tea latte in the States. Maybe the only green tea latte in the country. Oh well. I think I'll go to my friend's house and bum a free beer off of her.

  3. 3 patapete November 4, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Well I hope people don't go out just to get free goodies. It does sorta feel like a second Halloween in a sense…nothing wrong with nabbing a few free snacks along the way. But seriously though, kudos to you for voting!

  4. 4 patapete November 4, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Lol! Behold the power of green tea! I got hooked on green tea during my vacation in Japan. It's so awesome…

  5. 5 Hangaku Gozen November 4, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Beware of the green tea jones, though. It sneaks up on you at strange moments, like in the middle of the night. You drink it and then fuhgettabout a good night's sleep. But I'm exhausted from screaming and doing victory dances all over the sidewalk. It'll take a gallon of green tea to keep me awake now.

  6. 6 patapete November 4, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    haha, i hear ya! any tea that has corn syrup in it, i just avoid like the plague. It ain't real I tell ya!

  7. 7 recyclemicol November 5, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I voted early. πŸ™‚ I also ran the main Early Voting Polling Place in my town when I worked for the County Clerk's Office before I was married. I know how important of an opportunity it is for us all to vote. Thanks for bringing it up here on your blog, Pete!
    RM

  8. 8 patapete November 6, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Ahaha, it's nothing but thank you for the kind words as always πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

