Eve no Jikan (イヴの時間)

2008 was one of the better years for anime in recent times for sure.  The spring and fall season had a ton of new releases as well as classic revivals.  Tons.  And somehow, this little jewel of a title got lost in that mix.

A while back, there was this video on nico douga that caught my eye — it was a really well done short that wasn't like any other show I had seen before.  Beautiful CG, incredible use of editing…the entire premise was like watching something out of a Hollywood production.  Unfortunately I didn't follow up on it at the time.

Flashback two weeks.  A lot of websites were doing their "top *insert_blank* of 2008" lists, and I noted one particular show that hashihime had blogged about: Eve no Jikan.  I hadn't heard of the title nor saw any mention of it in Neogaf's seasonal anime thread, and usually hashihime has really good taste in titles.  I decided to give it a shot.

…which was probably the best choice I made, because this show is AMAZING.  I can't believe how lucky I am to run across this director again!  Immediately I recognized this show as the same one I viewed many months earlier, and now this show seems to be on the same pace (if not more improved and better looking) than its predecessor.  Not only that, but it's an ONA or Original Net Animation, perhaps the first of its kind!  And it's not even done yet, what the hell!  There's only three episodes out, with another three being released !

I can't really give enough praise for this show, so instead of doing a mini review on the series you're just going to have to trust me.  If innovation and creative storytelling amuses you, then you should definitely watch this title.  It's currently showing free of charge on crunchyroll, so go check it out!

As for that short animation, it was called Mizu no Kotoba.  You can check it out down here.  Handy I know, huh?

Mizu no Kotoba (Aquatic Language)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

0 Responses to “Eve no Jikan (イヴの時間)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

