Busy Busy Busy

I'm unbelievably swamped with work!  And the weird thing is that I'm not even receiving any pay for what I'm doing and yet it feels so gratifying!  Could this be the elusive, oft-rumoured Blue Bird of Happiness?

In any case, I posted a while back that I joined a fan scanlation group.  It's been a bit of a challenge, but overall I'm pretty confident in my translation ability.  If it wasn't for the furigana, there's no doubt in my mind the process would take much longer than it already is.  Probably tenfold.  (On a side note, my JLPT test scores came in — I passed!  Not a perfect score like I had hoped, but still good news nonetheless!)

The manga I'm translating is called スケットダンス(Sket Dance), and it's incredibly hilarious!  There's a kansai-ben speaking delinquent-turned-docile girl nicknamed Onihime, a laptop-wearing otaku who speaks only through a voice synthesizer named Switch, and their weird leader nicknamed Bossun who's only special skill is "concentrating".  Together they solve the wacky cases surrounding campus life!

I hope they serialize it into an anime someday in the future — I'd definitely watch it!

*****

I had another meeting with the other two people I'm working with on the graphic novel.  It was our first three-way voice chat so it was interesting, but I didn't really enjoy it since now I can't see the chat logs.  I used to read them to help myself remember what needed to be done each week.  I took it upon myself to act the secretary role, and took notes on all the minor things we agreed about. 

My friend had new concept designs for the characters, and the other guy in Japan did some tinkering with them in Photoshop.  I was disappointed he didn't use any of my designs, but I suppose this is the norm for collaborative projects.  It's not bad, but he's still learning I suppose.  I was curious what his art style looked like, all these years.

Rough SketchB&W Line DrawingColor and Shading

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Responses to “Busy Busy Busy”


  1. 1 Hangaku Gozen March 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    The drawing style for Sket Dance looks really familiar, but when I googled the artist's name, I drew a blank. I've never heard of Kenta Shinohara. Has he done anything else before this?(A friend of mine who burned out on manga grumbled that since most studios force the artists to churn the artwork out like machines, the manga styles tend to all look alike, since they learn to copy each other.)But now I'm curious to see your own work. Post some sample pages when you're done?And omedetou, congratulations on passing the JLPT!

  2. 2 patapete March 4, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    He was the assistant to Hideaki Shorachi, creator of Gintama. Other than that, his art style seems strikingly similar to a lot of other Shonen Jump artists, Bleach being one of them.

  3. 3 Shabby April 23, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Ooh, will check out Sket Dance. ^^I miss working for a scanlation group. Which reminds me… I have a group of my own. D:

  4. 5 Shabby April 24, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Yep, but we do doujinshi. ^^; I'm an editor. I started with K-Manhwa then joined various groups from there.

  5. 6 patapete April 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Oh, cool! You'll have to tell me more about it someday!


Leave a Reply

