A week in links (oops, it’s Saturday version)

Ah, a new look.  I tweaked my desktop and put a little more functionality this week.  I'm a big fan of minimalist design, so when I saw this wallpaper I just had to install it.  Found a matching icon set and taskbar skin too!  And even then, that wasn't enough — I went and got a haircut, haha!

Mother's Day is coming up tomorrow.  I usually buy roses and try to cook / clean for her, but the whole family decided to go out for dinner instead.  I remember a long time ago when I was a kid, I bought her perfume and she laughed and asked me why I bought it when she had tons of her own already.  In front of the whole family, too.  I just shrugged and said I didn't know what mom's liked, but her words shook me and to this day linger on…

Now when I buy presents I make sure to find something that's close to the presentee's interests.  Nothing feels worse than an ill conceived gift.

Kotaku – This is Not Peter Jackson's Halo – Movies
Whatever this movie is, it looks unbelievable.  This goes on the "must watch" list!

Kotaku – Why Won't Japanese Gamers Buy The Xbox 360? – Xbox 360
Brian Ashcraft wins.  Awesome post.

Talking Heads: Classic Video Game Industry Quotes
Sometimes videogame giants just can't keep up with their own words…

Survey: Slam Dunk Manga is #1 Choice for Live-Action (Updated) – Anime News Network
Slam Dunk for a live-action?  Sounds good to me!

Why text messages are limited to 160 characters | Technology | Los Angeles Times
Pretty informative.  Had no idea it was based off of this old concept!

Promotion Character Battle: Digital Deer vs. Analog Bear | Asiajin
Is it me, or does Analog Bear look a little like, oh, I don't know…Pedobear?

hackademix.net » Dear Adblock Plus and NoScript Users, Dear Mozilla Community
Use NoScript and AdBlock on your computer?  Might want a read a little Internet drama on it…very good read.

Duke Nukem Developer 3D Realms Shuts Down (Update 3) – Shacknews – PC Games, PlayStation, Xbox 360 and Wii video game news, previews and downloads
Goodbye Duke Nukem. I hardly knew ye.

Ananova – Chuck Norris protects baker
Too good to pass up

七ヶ浜がアニメ新聖地 : 宮城 : 地域 : YOMIURI ONLINE(読売新聞)
Kannagi helps bring tourism to local shrines.  Behold the power of fandom — a possible new boon?  It happened with Lucky Star too.

Tony Alleyne and his Star Trek flat – Telegraph
Star Trek came out this week, man…you know I had to do it!

Follow me on delicious for more up-to-date links.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

0 Responses to “A week in links (oops, it’s Saturday version)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

