Let me share one of my guilty pleasures…

Back in the day when Street Fighter EX was on the PSX console, I used to watch the computer battle itself in exhibition mode. I'd even run imaginary tournaments using that system…real dorky of me I know. That lead me to MUGEN. I tried it out, but, unfortunately it was too difficult for me to figure out how to work it.

But about a year ago I stumbled onto this (now hugely popular on Nico Douga) MUGEN tournament series of videos that features characters from all sorts of fighting games battle it out in team vs team, King of Fighter's style no-holds-barred brawl. The catch is, there's no one playing it — it's the computer fighting the computer set on super hard difficulty. They pull off some pretty amazing (and sometimes really funny) matches! Some of the stuff happening won't make sense unless you're pretty hardcore about fighting games but if you're like me, I'm pretty sure you'll enjoy the sheer randomness.

At the end of every video there's always a "boss fight" where an entire team tries to take on some of the most insane, cheapest characters ever. Really funny stuff!

This is the latest video to grace Nico Douga. If you want to watch the tournament from the beginning, you can catch it here (you'll need an account though).

Just a word of notice: if you decide to watch the videos from start to finish, be prepared for a major time sink…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

0 Responses to “Let me share one of my guilty pleasures…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

