A week in links (Cooking with curry! version)

I've been on this cooking high ever since I started living alone.  Cooking is so much fun!  I don't know how to bake cookies or pies or anything, but I can make a mean carbonara.  I've been trying my hand at more Japanese style dishes, and this one was last night's challenge — dry curry.  I'm not too sure on what it's actually called (混ぜカレー?).

At any rate, this month is going to be really really busy.  There's game tournaments spread all over August, manga that needs translating, and pretty soon artwork that'll need to be done for a new upcoming game project with a friend. 

This is going to be one helluva busy month.

Consumerist – AT&T Charges You A Fee For Getting A Discount – Fees
Capitalism at its finest.  Pretty insane story.

Asiajin » Nico Nico Jikkyo, Long Awaited Chat Over TV Programme
Was only a matter of time before this happened.  Too bad there's no English equivalent of this — oh wait, there is…but it's not as real time, nor does it involve floating kanji zipping across the screen…

【けいおん!】Don't_say_“lazy”【ねんどろいど】‐ニコニコ動画(ββ)
Best nendoroid video of all time?  Awesome stuff, nonetheless!

CANAAN Gets 3 Movies Starting this October
Holy crap, the show isn't even over yet, and they're already planning three movies!?  Fear the power of type/moon!

劇場版『Fate / stay night』オフィシャルサイト
AND they're making a movie for Fate/Stay Night!!  This is too much!!

Comiket76
Ugh…whatever type/moon is doing, it's working on me.  I just HAD to go check out what they did at comiket this year too…

longlong-lab
Saw this gem of a figure buried in the WonFest press releases, and this lone image stood out to me.  Best paint job I've ever seen…good use of mild, contrasting pastel hues.


2ch visited weekly by over one in four Japanese | 世論 What Japan Thinks
So how many Japanese people browse 2ch?  Survey says..!

Destructoid – Tekken 6: Hori stick, art book, new campaign mode

Looks like Namco is going to bust out yet another custom stick for Tekken 6 when it hits stateside.  Compared to the last version, it looks pretty nice.  I'm not a fan of in-game graphics splashed all over the front panel, but whatever.  So long as it works good.

With Jobs Scarce in Japan, Women Become Professional Flirts – NYTimes.com
First the New York Times had an article on men being hopelessly in love with 2D characters.  Now it's about women who are all clamoring to work as bar hostesses now.  Not sure what to make of this one this time…maybe WH has some insight on this?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Responses to “A week in links (Cooking with curry! version)”


  1. 1 Ivysgrandkid August 1, 2009 at 9:15 am

    carbonara yum yum! I need to learn me some japanese dishes!

  2. 2 Hangaku Gozen August 1, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Is that a raw egg on hot rice? I haven't seen that since I left home: my parents were the only ones whom I ever saw do this. When I went to a Japanese restaurant in MN and asked for a raw egg yolk to eat with my table-made sukiyaki, the waitress said I would get sick and refused. So I haven't had raw egg on hot rice since. ;_;

  3. 3 patapete August 1, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Yep, it is! I was kind of scared to eat it at first, but it's not too bad! I don't suppose you know the name of the dish?

  4. 4 Hangaku Gozen August 1, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    My parents called their dish simply "tomago gohan," egg rice. There is a curry rice dish called yaki kare, but that's baked in the oven with the egg placed on top as the last step. Is that how you made your kare raisu?

  5. 5 patapete August 2, 2009 at 1:04 am

    It wasn't baked, rather the rice was cooked separately and the ground meat was in a saucepan. After all of them are done, you place the meat on top of the rice with the raw egg on top of the beef.

  6. 6 Hangaku Gozen August 2, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Mmm, sounds good! Maybe you could call it "patapete kare raisu!"

  7. 7 Saul Ruff June 9, 2010 at 12:50 am

    I am sorry, that I interrupt you, but you could not give more information.


Leave a Reply

Random quote of the day: "I like girls, but I'm more into justice."

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


