Here’s your first look at this season’s anime lineup

I've been checking around on other sites to see their "first impression" reviews, and I'm kind of miffed.  Maybe I'm just too old or my tastes are too delicate, but the other places I've been to are really in to watching…crap.

Which is basically what this season offers.  Lots of high school girls in school uniforms doing weird slice-of-life things with a 'twist'.  Or sequels.

In all honesty, there are a few good shows this season.  I've already latched onto three shows (the rest of the new shows haven't been aired yet) which may or may not be a good thing, depending on which way you look at it.  It's been a long-time coming, but I gotta say it since this season pretty much confirmed it for me.

Anime based off of light novels are always the best shows in every season.  Hands down.

I can point to various shows with this theme that time and time again continue to succeed where their non-light novel brethren fail.  Shows like The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi, Full Metal Panic, Bakemonogatari, etc etc.  The list goes on.

Anyways.  Enough of the gripes, here's a quick review of the shows that I enjoyed so far this season.

To Aru Kagaku no Railgun

If a show is able to draw me in so much that I actually have to visit the wiki just to read up more info on it, I'm hooked.  I spent a good chunk of my day reading through the manga as well as the untranslated raws just to see how far the show might go, and my prediction is good.  Very, very good. 

I missed out on the first season unfortunately, but thankfully the manga and light novels are out there for easy browsing.  This particular show follows up on an important but very humorous side character (Misaka Mikoto aka "Biri Biri") and her story before she meets up with Kamijyo Touma from To Aru no Majutsu no Index

This makes it interesting because for those fans of the first season, they already know what lies in store for young Mikoto.  A very strong sense of foreshadowing looms over the otherwise happy-go-lucky first episode, which works incredibly well because of the split perspective story-telling approach they're taking.  (I blogged about this some time ago, who would've thought somebody would actually do it!?)

The Sacred Blacksmith

I'm a bit wary on where this show is going and how it's being played out, but compared to everything else I've watched (and that crazy cliffhanger at the end) this show has a bit of promise.  I don't know what it is about Japanese culture and why they're constantly playing these "what-if" scenarios of samurais fighting in medieval times, and I know even less about breast plates that have actual molds for breasts in them.  Is it a fetish?  Seriously, what the hell is up with Cecily's outfit? 

Meh, whatever.  Studio Manglobe is working on this, so I have a bit of faith in the production art but only time will tell if the entire broadcast run will hold onto this level of quality.  Bakemonogatari didn't do it, and they had one of the most impressive studios working on it.  So far the premise has met the hype that surrounded the show when it was first announced, but I need more episodes to make a better judgement on the direction the show is taking.

Consider it bookmarked for the time being.

Nyan Koi

When I first read the synopsis for this story, I was like, "Hell yeah!  A guy who can hear cats talk and has to embark on a journey to help 100 of them?  Count me in!" and then I was like, "Whoa, this show is still pretty cool, although it's not as funny as I'd thought it'd be…"

Just like the Samurai Blacksmith show, I'm a bit hesitant (yet always optimistic) about how this show will play out later down the road.  With a premise like this, it's hard to goof up the potential comedic value.  The main character is your average over-reacting, teen-angsty standard fare, but it works well with that smug fat cat and her Victorian attitude.  Just hearing her talk makes me want to rip her whiskers off!

(On a related note, I too am allergic to cats although I can't resist petting them.)  Consider this one also bookmarked for the time being…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Here’s your first look at this season’s anime lineup”


  1. 1 Hangaku Gozen October 5, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Is that Inu-Yasha in the lineup? I would figure by now they're in reruns, but then I lost track of the TV series after the second season.

  2. 2 patapete October 5, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Yep, that's Inu-Yasha. Last season too, I believe — picks up exactly where it left off (wherever that was).


Leave a Reply

Random quote of the day: "I like girls, but I'm more into justice."

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


