Forays into journalism

So, I'm not particulary enthused about this new writing gig.  I keep searching for definites on the pay rates and such, but there's nothing to be found.  Do people really make money with this site?  Is there room for advancement?  Will this help me on the road to true gaming journalism?  Not a clue. 

One of the lead editors forwarded me a document on their pay rates, and what I had read was that they do not disclose their formula for paying writers.  However, they gave an arbitrary number and mentioned that you'd be better off keeping your day job.  Wow.

I'm miffed, to say the least.  Speechless, even.  At this point I think I'll focus more on posting articles here, where they at least still belong to me.  The more sporadic posts will go over there.  Pennies on the dollar, really…

I also got my first comment a few days ago.  That was pretty shocking. 

I love it how people love to correct others on facts — I'm guilty of doing it too.  I can see why it's annoying now, especially when you've poured over every inch, adding as much info as possible to flesh out the story and try to provide entertainment for the readers.  It kinda rains on your parade.

But I guess that's why journalists and writers alike have to develop thick heads and thick skin.  To zone out that negative feedback, if you will.  If I ever do the same thing in the future, I pledge to be more constructive about it. 

Or do it better. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Responses to “Forays into journalism”


  1. 1 Cheapo Groovo January 28, 2010 at 11:34 am

    That is why I document all my income streams from my blog sidebar and my seminars on Twitter. Problem with most gigs is puffing results.

  2. 2 patapete January 28, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    How does documenting income streams into your blog sidebar help? Could you enlighten me a bit more about the whole operation?

  3. 3 Cheapo Groovo January 28, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I guess what I was trying to say is that when I join a program, I work it for several weeks before recommending it to others by putting it in my widget area.Many Internet sites claim to make you thousands of $$$ while you sleep, so I document what I make each day on twitter. So you can see your "typical" earnings. For those who do join the programs I reccomend, they also get helpful tips/tricks either from my blog or email support if they buy my seminars..I do not know who you are writing for, but if you can't get a clear picture of your earnings, a red flag should go up ~ and that was the main point of my comment ~ lots of scammers out their who do not document via twitter, or screen shots, etc.

  4. 4 patapete January 28, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I see, that makes perfect sense. I work for examiner, and I know of their reputation through blog postings and hearsay inside and outside of the website. What do you think of them, perchance? I'm interested in your opinion!

  5. 5 Cheapo Groovo January 29, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I have a positive opinion about them, but have only read maybe a half dozen articles. But they seem to be coming on strong with many "big" papers charging for online content.


Leave a Reply

