Adventures in soy sauce

Hunger punched me in the gut pretty badly today, so I ran off to find some food.  And whenever I get food, it's gotta have that good ol' soy sauce on it.  Everything tastes better with soy sauce, whether it's hot dogs, ice cream, a banana, or that classic asian staple: cooked white rice.  So naturally after nuking some chicken and sticking it on the rice, I go for the soy sauce.

I must have some bad luck today.  For some odd reason, I couldn't taste the soy sauce.  It tasted like…like plain old rice and chicken!  What gives?!  Did we get a bad batch or something?

"This can't be right", I thought.  I gave it another shot and opened another packet for a quick taste test.  If this next one ends up tasting like water, I'm gonna assume either a) my taste buds have gone bad, or b) something is wrong with this soy sauce packet. 


Okay, that one turned out fine.  Maybe the fatty acids from the chicken counter-acted the soy sauce's powah?  No clue.  At any rate, my faith in Kari-out is a little less now.  I don't think I'll be picking up their soy sauce packets whenever I leave another Chinese carry-out in the future anymore.  Faith destroyed.

Maybe I should go try the bottle version instead.  Or that good old Sriracha!  Sriracha won't let me down for sure…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “Adventures in soy sauce”


  1. 1 Hangaku Gozen February 17, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    My mother would say it's because it's Chinese soy sauce, which is "no good" in her book. šŸ˜‰ "Yamasa always better!"

  2. 2 patapete February 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Kikkoman is brewed in WISCONSIN!?


Leave a Reply

