Comments are now Neighborhood only (and some other random updates)

I've been noticing these spam comments that aren't quite spam, yet altogether annoying due to the incomprehensible jibber jabber that gets left on the blog.  It's been a chore filtering out the "real" people from the spambots; so much that I've taken the next step and disabled comment feedback from individuals who aren't in my neighborhood.  Apologies to the people who post in earnest.

Lately it's becoming more ambiguous, so to end my suffering I've just stuffed a lid on top of the whole shebang.

Doubtful that it'll make much of a difference, but hey, it's better than nothing.

Vox is a great site.  It's simple, easy to use, and a great way to connect to other people (as well as an excellent tool for keeping up with interesting writers).  But the blogging format is just too glitchy for me, so I'm looking up other blogging platforms and keeping my options open.  It's a pain when I accidentally click on an image inside the editing page, only to lose all the work put into it.

The bold and the italics button don't appear to be functioning properly — I remember once upon a time I was able to highlight a word and embolden / italicize with a single click, but now it's skips to random parts of the editing window and requires a second button press to get it working.  It's a small gripe I know, but it's still something that irks me.  This didn't happen before.

Sigh.

A close friend linked me to his blog page.  He's dipping his hand into web blogging to get a feel for it, me thinks.  I don't know what his focus is, but I always find his writing style to be humorous.  It's not exactly incomprehensible word fu, but it's got a little charm in it.  You can check it out here: his website is called Multifarious Clutter (you better send me a paycheck, Hoang, lol).

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Comments are now Neighborhood only (and some other random updates)”


  1. 1 Hangaku Gozen February 24, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Well, I'm a Neighbor, so I guess I'll comment, heh.

  2. 2 patapete February 24, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Hey thanks, that'll make Hoang extremely happy to have a new reader on his blog!


Leave a Reply

