A week in links (Hometown Arcade version)

I was passing through the mall yesterday and I noticed the door to the old arcade was cracked open a bit.  For those of you who don't know, I spent a good deal of my life in here. 

They're renovating the place into something else now.  I dunno what it is.  But it was kind of remarkable to see that most of the stuff in the room is still there, more or less.  Without the games, of course.  It really brought me back to the old days, when I used to meet all sorts of new people here.

I met most of my best friends through this place.

Arcades in general are on the low these days.  I wish we were like Japan, with arcades in every city, each within 30 minutes via train.  But that's mostly a pipe dream, considering how large America is.  I guess that's why we have stuff like Xbox Live and PSN eh?  You youngin's missed out!

Destructoid – Save glitch lets you see Shinobu naked
This was creepy.  But also the first of a wave of nude stories that made their way into the news…

NSFW: Heavy Rain Glitch Brings Playable, Accidental Nudity – heavy rain – Kotaku
…and here's the other. 

クイーンズゲイトに鉄拳の人気キャラクター“リリ” が登場!:オレ的ゲーム速報@刃
Various game characters (Mai Shiranui, Kasumi, etc) adorn Queen's Blade.  Yes THAT Queen's Blade.  Thankfully somewhat SFW…

Final Fantasy XIII 's Motomu Toriyama and Yoshinori Kitase – Interview : Tech Digest
They accused James Cameron of stealing their ideas in Avatar!  Really now?  I thought James Cameron stole his idea from Pocahontas, personally.

SEGA America Blog | New Resonance of Fate website live! (+ Free Music Download)
Free muzak!

Slashdot Science Story | Scientists Discover Booze That Won't Give You a Hangover
This is relevant to my interests (lol)

An Insider's Guide to Portal 2 – Portal – Kotaku

Portal 2!!  Nuff said!

2010 年春季放送開始の新作アニメ一覧 – GIGAZINE
A brief peek at Spring 2010's anime line up.  I'm waiting a bit for the neogaf version to come out.  Those are always insightful.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

0 Responses to “A week in links (Hometown Arcade version)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

