Fuan no Tane: A review

I hate horror movies.

Many of my friends have tried to trick me into watching scary movies like the Ring, Saw, etc.  They love seeing the look on my pale, horror-filled face ever since that day they let me play Fatal Frame.  I'm a scaredy-cat, I know.  I don't care.  But if my friends knew that I was reading this manga, they'd never believe it. 

Even I don't know how I got sucked into reading this.  It's mind boggling.

This manga is so damn freaky.

It's horrifying in the sense that you know it's scary, yet once you start reading you just can't put it down.  Each chapter blows by so fast that before you know it, you'll be covering your eyes at the next story craving for more.  It's that good.

Fuan no Tane (Seeds of Anxiety in English) is a great manga.  It's not as over-the-top ridiculous as Junji Ito's Uzumaki, nor is it as gruesomely squeamish as Yoshiki Tonogai's psychological thriller Rabbit Doubt.  What it does well, however, is play with your mind.  Normal every day things that we take for granted, Fuan no Tane doesn't.  It makes you second guess that shadow in the corner of your eye or that dark space between your desk and the wall.

It can make you unable to sleep at night, as it did to me.

The artwork is very simplistic and minimalist.  I can't think of a time where black and white worked so well.  Nakayama Masaaki-sensei does a brilliant job of making the reader focus in a particular point over and over until the creeping realization sinks in that what you're looking at isn't what you expect it to be — or even what you want it to be.  And he does it damn well.

Kind of like that car accident on the side of the road you saw this morning.  Or that dead deer carcass on the street the other day.  You just can't help but unconsciously stare at it, and the same fate will come to you if you decide to read Fuan no Tane.  At night.

Don't blame me if you can't sleep tonight…I warned you…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Responses to “Fuan no Tane: A review”


  1. 1 Hangaku Gozen March 26, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Jeezus cripes, that's just what I need now: another reason to NOT sleep at night.

  2. 2 patapete March 26, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    Let us know what you think of it! 😀

  3. 3 nayoii April 8, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Ohh I have to ty this one!

  4. 4 Eric Jackson May 19, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Clearly, many thanks for the help in this question.


Leave a Reply

