New desktop.

It's been a while since I've updated my desktop on the laptop — mostly due to a lack of interest in finding new apps that improve functionality while maintaining a crisp, organized look.  I've been very content with rocketdock as it does everything I need just fine, but in an effort to streamline the stuff I do everyday, I've taken a chance with Omnimo UI.

Omnimo UI looks amazing.  It's based off of the Windows 7 phone theme, complete with blocky knick-knacks that act like shortcuts on the desktop.  It's also a rainmeter theme, so it cuts down on resources fairly well, too.  I still haven't gotten the RSS feed and stuff to work for me yet, but hopefully when that gets set up things will be a lot easier.

By the way if you haven't checked out Omnimo UI (or the Enigma desktop), you really ought to.  They're really simple, stylistic apps that spruce up your desktop.  Times 9000.  They're both a tad hard to get into at first, but it gets easier once you've poked around a bit.  After about an hour (or three) later, I was able to turn my desktop into this:

Granted, the taskbar is still the same.  Rocketdock is now on the left hand side and automatically hides, freeing up clutter.  The date also supposedly changes daily, but I guess I'll find out tomorrow if it does or not (lol).  Eventually I'll replace that static "To Do" list with the RSS feed, once I figure the kinks out.

It'd be nice to check facebook, twitter, and other bookmarked favs without having to click on firefox each time I boot up.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Responses to “New desktop.”


  1. 1 Kimura April 13, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Wow, that looks really cool!

  2. 2 patapete April 13, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Haha, thanks! Still tweaking away though ^^

  3. 4 MMORPG Fan April 24, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Very awesome Desktop! =]. I'm dling the Omnimo now too.

  4. 5 Shabby May 1, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    ^o^ I want that in my desktop!


Leave a Reply

Random quote of the day: "I like girls, but I'm more into justice."

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


