Wacky Engrish on Rakuten

More amusing findings over at Rakuten.  As much as I enjoy browsing goods on their online shop, I can't help but notice the rampant Engrish that goes on over there.  And to think that Rakuten wants to expand more into the western market…it kinda makes me worried.

A long time ago Andy once said to me, "We ought to get jobs in the Japanese translation market.  We'd make a killing translating all the goofy English that goes on over there."  Boy was he spot on.  I understand the fact that Japan loves to use English to sound sauve and foreign and all, but it boggles my mind at how they just mash words together and come up with new sentences not even us foreigners are able to come up with.

Someone really ought to start a business out there that fixes sentences — like a PR firm or something for copy writers.  Anybody up for it?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

1 Response to “Wacky Engrish on Rakuten”


  1. 1 Randolf Stark June 8, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    In it something is also to me it seems it is good idea. I agree with you.


Leave a Reply

