A week in links (The road to EVO version)

Just got the confirmation email today — I've been accepted as a judge at the 2010 Evolution Fighting Game Championships!

I didn't think I would be accepted honestly, but I guess I wrote something positive in my application email.  I found out that they've assigned me to the 5pm ~ Midnight shift for Super Street Fighter IV.  While I'm glad to be an official judge now, I'm a little worried since the Melty Blood tournament will be happening at the same time.  Hopefully that'll get fixed later.

It's going to be June real soon here.  I've been grinding away in practice mode for nearly three hours daily in an effort to discover (and rediscover) new techs and combos for Melty Blood.  So far it's been paying off; I've mastered a few new characters outside of Ryougi Shiki.  That'll help me out just in case I run into any people who play those characters.

Very good week in terms of news.  A big thank you goes out to all of you who've submitted questions on formspring!  It's given me a new outlook on what people look for in the topics I write, so I'm a bit more confident in myself now. Enjoy the week's links!

*****

YouTube – Kung Fu Bear (BEST FOOTAGE!)
That is just insane!  Who taught that bear how to do that?
Koe de Oshigoto! Manga Gets Anime Adaptation – Anime News Network
This is a really great manga, so news of an anime adaptation is welcome news.  Everyone should check it out!

Rumor: DLC characters coming for Super Street Fighter 4
Is R. Mika, Rolento, and Hugo coming? 

Ok reddit lets make it…The List of Real Life Cheat Codes!!!! : AskReddit
I don't know about that "waving to the cop if you get a speeding ticket" cheat, but if anyone out there ever gets pulled over, do tell us if this really worked (lol).

武器傘-劇場版『Fate – stay night – UNLIMITED BLADE WORKS』-エクスカリバー
The Excalibur umbrella — only $100 dollars ($100 freaking dollars!?).

Alan Wake: The Worst Product-Placement In Gaming History? – G4tv.com
Watch the video.  I can't believe something like this is actually in a video game…

Fogonazos: Maniobras alucinantes de cuadricópteros autónomos
Too cool!

日々是遊戯:iPadが懐かしのアーケードゲーム筐体になる? ゲームパッドへの対応を願う – ITmedia Gamez
Okay, have to admit this was a pretty darned clever use for the iPad.  Might have to re-reconsider getting one now just to do this.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “A week in links (The road to EVO version)”


  1. 1 Kimura May 30, 2010 at 4:32 am

    What exactly is the responsibility of a judge for a gaming tournament like that? Watch out for cheaters?

  2. 2 patapete May 30, 2010 at 5:05 am

    Something like that. Judges have to watch over and enforce rules, but also have the ability to make calls on accidental pausing issues and help out as a third party for blind pick requests.For blind picks, each player whispers to the judge who they're going to choose so the other person can't counter-pick their character.


Leave a Reply

